REVIEW: The Wrath & The Dawn – Renée Ahdieh

bookh

The Wrath and The Dawn

by Renée Ahdieh

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Release date: May 12, 2015
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 388
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance, Retelling
Rating: ★★★★★
Goodreads / Amazon

I started reading this while I’m in a plane on the way to Japan, because what else is there to do during the 4-hour travel than to read? Personally I love reading in planes, because I feel like I’m ‘somewhere and nowhere’ at the same time. I’m ‘here but also there’.

This book is a traveling book that was lent to me by a fellow reader. I was excited not only to participate but also to finally read this ever wonderful novel that I’ve been wanting to read two years ago! And so yes, I was allowed to write notes in the book as well 🙂

Now, I’m going to talk about how this book is super amazing and how I easily fell in love with it. First, the plot. Seriously? A seventeen-year-old badass who wants to kill the caliph by volunteering because her best friend is murdered by him? Those are my type. And come onnnn, for the first time I’ve read something about a non-white character and isn’t that interesting enough? The narrative was never dull nor boring that’s why I simply cannot put this book down! I struggle whenever I have to sleep already, and I’m almost tempted to get the ebook so I can still read in bed. That’s how awesome this is. Second, the admirable characters. Shahrzad, the main character, can shoot arrows and punch boys. I admire her bravery and honesty. That’s what gave her the chance to survive. Like, can I be her friend? Please pretty please?? Then there’s also Khalid, the caliph. I’ve said this once and I’m going to say it again: I have a thing for villains who has a troubled past. Because guess what, they’re actually just a little cupcake who needs a second chance, who needs to be loved. Okay? Come here Khalid, let me love you. But of course, I’m not forgetting the other amazing characters like Despina and Jalal, all of them are unique in their own way which makes the story even better.

Lastly, this is one of the best books ever because IT IS JUST THE BEST. So wonderful, so beautiful, soooooo fantastic! There’s not a single chapter or a single line that I disliked in this book. I promise. Literally there are so many good reviews about this out there. I still can’t even get over it! I just got the novellas, and I can’t wait to have the sequel in my hands! I NEED IT SOOOOON. I really really love it beyond words. I write it to the sky.

I recommend this to everyone. If you haven’t read this yet, go get your copy in your bookshelf that’s been waiting to be picked up. I have my own copy of this book in paperback edition (which I won in a twitter giveaway), so I can reread it anytime I want hehehe. I assure you all, you’re going to enjoy as much as I did! ❤

Leave a Reply

