REVIEW: Every Exquisite Thing – Matthew Quick

Every Exquisite Thing

by Matthew Quick

Publisher: Little, Brown books for Young Readers
Released Date: May 31, 2016
Format: Paperback
Pages: 265
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Romance
Rating: ★★★★★

Matthew Quick is one of my favorite authors, and I was really excited to read this book. I’ve just got out of my reading slump, and it was perfect to read a really good book to keep me reading. There was no other perfect book than a Matthew Quick book.

There is no flawless book, of course. Not even Matthew Quick can write the most perfect book. But don’t get me wrong, because his books are magical and wonderful.

Every Exquisite Thing is no exception. It has beautiful story that really appealed to me because it felt like it was real. It felt like it was my story, that everything that was happening was part of my life. I thought I was Nanette O’Hare.

Speaking of which, Nanette O’Hare is the protagonist of the novel, and she was written perfectly as a character people would understand because of her plight. The other characters, like Mr. Alex Booker and Alex were also beautifully written.

I love this book because the story went to a very different way before the end of part one of the book. It went on a huge turnaround that, I have to be honest, I didn’t really like at first but as the story went on I began to understand that a story really has to face many trials, whether the book will have a positive or a negative ending. Nanette had to endure so much pain in her life, so many wrong decisions (may she have really wanted to do the many things that have occurred), and so many wrong turns.

The book featured in the story, The Bubblegum Reaper, was very significant and it was placed in the story very well. It really served its purpose well, though it’s the reason why everyone’s lives changed.

Within part two of the book, I was overwhelmed with how things were already different. Every Exquisite Thing really represented life because a lot of things changed as time passes by. We will all be as surprised as Nanette when she realizes that her life has changed because of a book she obsessed about.

Who knows? Maybe this fantastic book will be like my The Bubblegum Reaper. Though it’s not as life-changing, it still gives a big impact on the people who read it. I will definitely be looking at this book through a sort of spectrum that says that it is a magical novel that has changed the way I look at my life and the life of the people around me. It’s sort of like the Butterfly Effect, in a certain way.

Every Exquisite Thing: ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

